SALGA recommendations for Integrated National Electrification Programme; Roll out of INEP in partnership with municipalities & Solar Water Heaters programme: Eskom briefing

Parliamentary Monitoring Group 14 June 2011.


The South African Local Government Association provided recommendations for improving the Integrated National Electrification Programme. SALGA’s recommendations were:
• Need some shared capacity to provide technical support to under-capacitated municipalities; capacitate INEP regional offices to play this role
• INEP offices should be the points of coordination/ planning alignment between various electrification projects funding agencies
• Provincial Housing Departments must make their approved Multi Year Housing Development Plans and priority development objectives available to Department of Energy (DoE) to enable the latter to align its electrification programme accordingly

• DoE to allow upgrade of existing infrastructure required for electrification projects
• DoE to fund infill connections
• Requirement for 80% occupancy of housing developments be done away with
• Adjustment of the National Housing Programme to include funding for the removal of the existing meters and the re-installation thereof in the new dwellings
• DoE policy should provide the full cost of connections in areas provided by both Eskom and municipalities
• Eskom should enter into service delivery agreements (SDAs) with municipalities where Eskom was a distributor so as to ensure alignment of expectations. ..

(PS you might need to subscribe to PMG to get access)


Gov announces appointment of new Chairpersons of Parliamentary Portfolio Committees

Media statement by the Deputy Secretary General of the ANC, Thandi Modise, on the appointment of Chairpersons of Parliamentary Portfolio Committees

18 November 2010

When we began this current term of parliament, we committed ourselves to an activist ANC Caucus and activist Parliament that is well-positioned to fully undertake its constitutional role, which include conducting robust oversight over the Executive.

We stressed that this activist parliament will require men and women of outstanding pedigree who will selflessly submit themselves to the service of the nation. The activist nature of this institution, which we undertook to deepen, necessitates therefore that we continuously assess and review our operations system to ensure that we continue to be relevant to the task of meeting the tasks South Africans have placed upon our shoulders.

The realignment of the leadership of our committees is therefore consistent with our ongoing endeavour to strengthen the role of the movement in Parliament.

We therefore wish to announce the names of comrades we have deployed to the posts of portfolio committee chairpersons. These comrades will be recommended to parliament for elections in the respective meetings of committees. We congratulate these comrades and wish them well in their new responsibilities. We also wish to thank our comrades who formerly held these positions.

New deployments:

1. Defence and Military Veterans
Malusi Stanley Motimele (M)
2. Higher Education
Ishmael Malale (M)
3. Home Affairs
Maggy Maunye (F)
4. Basic Education
Hope Malgas (F)
5. Labour
Mamagase Elleck Nchabeleng (M)
6. Public Enterprise
Peter Maluleke (M)
7. Public Works
Catherine Mabuza (F)
8. Water and Environment
Johnny De Lange (M)
9. International Relations and Cooperation
Tisetso Magama (M)
10. Communications
Eric Kholwane (M)
11. Arts and Culture
Thandile Babalwa Sunduza (F)
12. Justice
Luwellyn Tyrone Landers (M)
13. Energy
Sisa Njikelana (M)
14. Joint Standing Committee on Defence
Jerome Joseph Maake (M)
15. Women, Children and People with Disabilities
Dorothy Ramodibe (F)
16. Chair of ANC Parliamentary Caucus:
Jerry Dimotana Thibedi (M)
17. House Chairpersons:
Cedric Thomas Frolick
Fatima Hajaig

Issued by the ANC, Parliament, Cape Town

Short biographies of the new Committee Chairpersons of Public Enterprises, Energy and Water and Environment:


He is the new chairperson for the portfolio committee on Public Enterprises. He has been an MP since 2004, and served as a member of the PC on Public Works. From 2009 until his appointment as chair of Public Enterprises, he served as a member of the PC on Arts and Culture.

He replaces Vytjie; and is the Chairperson of the ANC Regional Disciplinary Committee. His previous positions include: Speaker Tshwane Municipality; Executive Chairperson Greater Pretoria Municipality; Interim Transitional Mayor Pretoria; Trade unionist; Underground activities; Political activist; Detainee; Founder member Mamelodi Civic Organisation; Mamelodi Civic Organisation Deputy Chairperson.

Education: Local Government and Administration Certificate (UNISA); Democracy and Local Governance (Univ. of Stockholm)


He is the new chairperson for the portfolio committee on Energy. He has been an MP since 2004; and was recently a member of the PC on Energy; and the PC on Trade & Industry.

Past Positions: PC Trade & Industry; Rules Committee (Alt);Participated in various tasks teams: Formulation of Policy on International Relations Task Team, ICT Support for Parliamentarians Focus Group; ANC Constituency Work Support Unit; ANC Constituency Work Support Unit; ANC Gauteng Provincial Collective (Management Committee); Chair: Leadership Dev Project Steering Committee; APRM Socio-Economic Joint Sub-Committee; ANC BEC member of Hillbrow, Sunnyside, Yeoville; Gauteng ANC PEC finance & labour sub-committees member (2002-2004); Councillor: City of Joburg-Eastern Metro Council (1995-1998); active in unions: SAAWU, Nehawu, Nupawo, NGOs

Current: ANC Helen Joseph Branch (Greater JHB Region); Board Member: IXHASA ATC (Agency of Gauteng Housing Dept)

Education: Applied Social Studies Diploma ( Ruskin College, Oxford UK); LDP-Leadership in Communications Certificate; Masters Programme (Local Economic Development) candidate


He is the new chairperson for the portfolio committee on Water and Environment and has been an MP since 1994. He is also the former deputy minister for Justice.

Past: ANC Parliamentary Spokesperson on Justice; PC Justice and Constitutional Development Chairperson; Rules Committee; Joint Rules Committee; Subcommittee on Review of Rules Chairperson; Judicial Service Commission.

Current Political Career: ANC NEC Subcommittee on Peace and Stability; ANC NEC on Constitutional Affairs.

Past: ANC PEC Western Cape; Constitutional Assembly ANC negotiating team drafting Interim and Final Constitution; ANC Electoral Command Centre Western Cape; ANC REC Western Cape region Negotiations portfolio; ANC BEC Observatory/Mowbray; UDF Treasurer Western Cape; Cape Democrats BEC.

Education: BA (US); LLB (UCT)