Concerns raised over proposed Necsa Pelindaba smelter

Engineering News 11 October 2012.

The proposed smelter at South African Nuclear Energy Corporation’s (Necsa’s) Pelindaba site is cause for concern, environmental activists and members of the public said at a hearing on Thursday.

The public hearing, in Pretoria, was held by the National Nuclear Regulator (NNR) to receive comment on the proposed Necsa smelter, which would process 14 000 t of uranium-contaminated scrap metal, presently stored on the Pelindaba site…

(Editor’s note: I think I prefer the idea of burying the waste to trying to burn it, I didn’t know that smelting contaminated metal waste removes the radioactivity, I thought radioactivity happens at the atomic level, so how can molecular level treatment have any effect? The truth will emerge – I hope!)

Click here for the full article

